Claustrophobia – by Hanif S. Bey of Virgin Island 3

I exist in a claustrophobic environment

So, when I depart my cell I have entered the claustrophobic state of mind

but when I return to my cell (9 by 12 feet)

I am free from the “Claustrophobic Apathy”

In the cell “inclusion”, “diversity” and “equality” reign,

and everything in the cell receives its respect

Outside the cell everything is subject to limitation,

while in the cell you can chart your own place of travel

So, I would speculate that a little bit of “isolation” can cure a whole of claustrophobia

Peace,

Hanif S. Bey

8-14-22

You can write Hanif at:

Beaumont Gereau #19-1952

Citrus County Detention Facility

2604 West Woodland Ridge Drive

Lecanto, FL 34461

From: Mongoose Distro

About the Virgin Island 3:

After the 1972 shooting at Fountain Valley Golf Course, dozens of native Black youth in St Croix were rounded up and tortured, resulting in statements from five young men in their early twenties. After the trial, three jurors reported coercion that led to their guilty verdict. Three of the defendants–Abdul Azeez, Hanif Bey, and Malik Bey– are held in prison 50 years later. Due to their advanced age, they have a variety of chronic health conditions that are difficult to manage in prison. Their legal team believes they are being unjustly held with life-threatening medical conditions in the private prison system in the mainland United States, far away from their families.