Carmen: My Dream Has Always Been to Help People

Carmen of the Southwest Front

My dream has always been to help people, the community in all kinds of jobs. It motivated me to join the ELN because it is an organization that does work with communities.

Thanks to the ELN I have been able to help and talk to the communities and thanks to the ELN I have learned what Organisational Political Work (TPO) or social insertion is. The ELN caught my attention for its struggle with the people, the other reason for joining me was to be in love with a comrade.

My life in the guerrilla, the first days for me were a little hard, because I kept thinking about my family, but little by little I learned that in the ELN we are also like a family. Today I am here to go forward and with my head held high, to continue living the guerrilla life and to be someone in this organization.

If I hadnt joined the ELN I would have been helping my mother to work, I would be working, I cant say studying, because I quit my studies for work, just to help my little sisters; thanks to my mother and father, they helped me and gave me their support to join the ELN.