Message from a Fugitive Antifascist Comrade in Germany

Thoughts of a Wanted Person

Hello dear comrades,

Unfortunately, I can’t say much about myself except that I am an anti-fascist and that I am the subject of a public search. After much thought and discussion, I have decided to use these words to find at least a semi-public way of dealing with the manhunt, although fortunately it has so far been unsuccessful. This gives me the opportunity to do something about my powerlessness and to talk a little about the inner life of a wanted anti-fascist. I would also like to take the opportunity to explain what has helped me in dealing with the repression and to make an appeal to you all.

When I was informed about the public search, I knew what I had to do. Go to my comrades. At the moment of the immediate shock, I had people by my side. People with whom I could talk about my feelings, but above all with whom I could discuss what the next steps and how to deal with them might be. These comrades are still by my side today and are often enough the reason why I have not yet retreated into a bourgeois life despite the repression. Not only because they support me, but first and foremost because they discuss with me how things can continue politically and because, despite all the attacks on our movement, they never stop continuing the political struggle. This last point, the continuation of the struggle against the state and capital, is what has kept me going the most. In the weeks after I found out about the public search, I became depressed, had trouble sleeping and didn’t go to work. However, I was able to continue my political work. Because I have comrades who, although I am wanted, made political activity possible for me as a matter of course and still do today. Solidarity is first and foremost what ensured that the repression came to nothing. However, continuing to do so should not be underestimated either: if the anti-fascist movement does not continue to fight and does not learn offensive lessons from the repression, then the repression has worked, then I would have to go to court without support, without meaning, should I ever be captured.

I don’t think that small, clandestine organizations that are as secretive as possible protect us from repression; on the contrary, the most effective protection against repression is a movement that is as large, lively, diverse and powerful as possible. Such a movement is the reason why I am fighting and the only sensible way I can see. But I don’t mean that clandestine and reliable organizations are not also necessary to maintain the struggle in our current situation and in the future, even in phases of weakness of revolutionary or potentially revolutionary movements.

I think we must never stop our actions – especially the militant ones – against the state, capital and fascism. If we realize that a form of action no longer works because it entails too much repression, then we have to change the form of action, but not lower the level of the attack or question the legitimacy of militant action as such.

Dealing with repression politically is difficult, but necessary. In the vast majority of cases, repression affects individuals, it is painful, it isolates you if you do not fight against it and have no one to fight with you. Dealing with repression politically, be it politically led court cases, solidarity events or militant actions, is the only way to enable the person affected and the movement to continue in the long term. So this text is not to be understood as a bowing down or a confession of helplessness, but as a “Fuck you!” to the apparatus of repression.

Finally, I would like to wish good luck and freedom to all the prisoners and to all the people who are in hiding, to whom I feel a little closer since I have been on the run.

Fire and flames against repression! 

Freedom for all political and social prisoners!

source: https://de.indymedia.org/node/329394

translated for Abolition Media by Nae Midion